Settings: Entity Business Rules

In the Company Settings section of Admin settings you will find several ways you can customize Spiro for everyone at your organization. Descriptions are provided for each item, but this article will further explain the last item: Entity Business Rules


Entity Business Rules:

Entity Business Rules give you more control over who in your organization has permission to create, update, and delete records, across all entities in Spiro. For example, this means you can disable the ability to delete companies, while giving select users permission to do so.

These rules can be applied to companies, contacts, and opportunities, as well as any custom list and section entities you have created.
To enable these rules and chose who has permission with these rules, go to settings > Company Settings > Entity Business Rules > Manage Rules
Once you've clicked "Manage Rules," you will see tabs for Contact Rules, Company Rules, Opportunity Rules, and rules for any custom entities you have created. When the toggle is on and to the right (purple), there are no restrictions in place. If you turn the toggle off, you have then restricted all users from performing that action for that particular entity, and you can then go in and add specific users as the exception. In the scenario below, I've turned off the ability for all users to delete companies from Spiro, and have added Johnny Bench as the exception. You can add as many users as you wish to each rule. 
Custom Entity Business Rules:

Business Rules for Custom Section and List entities function as described above, but with one important distinction: Admins will be able to control whether custom Section and List entities are visible to particular users. Admins have always been able to control the visibility of custom entities, and the Entity Business Rules section is now the new section of Settings to do so. In the scenario below, no users are able to see the Invoices entity except for Johnny Bench.