Set up your email templates

Overview

Templates are standardized emails and that can be sent from Spiro. There are three types of templates that we offer and this article will go over the difference between them and how to use them. Templates are user-specific meaning if you make a new template or change a standard template, it will not affect the templates in your coworker's accounts. The changes will only be shown in your own account.

Email Templates

These are emails that are sent to individual contacts. Spiro comes with a few standard templates that you can access by clicking on Settings > Email Templates and then selecting each email from the dropdown.

You can make changes by scrolling down to the edit section, making any changes you'd like, and then clicking Save at the bottom of the page.

Making a new template

Making your own email template is easy. Click on the purple arrow in the bottom right corner and click New.

Personalize your template by using merge attributes in the body or subject. This field will change based on who the template is being sent to. For example, if you use the merge attribute for %{contact_first_name} then the email will start off with the contact's first name. All contact fields can be used as merge fields.

Email Campaign Templates

These are templated emails that are sent to multiple contacts at once using Campaigns. Access them from Account Settings > Email campaign templates.

You can create new email campaign templates the exact same way that you created your one-off email template above.

Then click Save As and now you're ready to send your email campaign. For more help using email campaigns, check out this article.

Text Templates

Similar to email templates, these are texts that are sent to individual contacts. Spiro comes with a few standard templates that you can access by clicking on Settings --> Text templates. Naming, editing, and using the merge attributes for text templates are similar to email templates as well. 

Sharing Templates

If you're an admin, you have the option to create email templates and share them with other users. Use the drop-down under Share with to choose which users should have access to the template. You can also use the "Set as Public" checkbox to automatically share the template across all users. This is particularly helpful if a new user joins your company, so you don't have to remember sharing that template with them again.

If an admin has shared a template with you, that template will appear in your template section in settings, and  also will appear as an option upon sending an email. If you want to edit a template that has been shared with you, simply use the "save as" function.